
July 21, 2022 
ATTORNEY GENERAL RAOUL ANNOUNCES ANNUAL REPORTING INFORMATION FOR THE KNOW 

BEFORE YOU OWE PRIVATE EDUCATION LOAN ACT 

Chicago  — Attorney General Raoul today announced the release of informational guides and reporting 
templates that provide instructions to private education lenders to help them comply with the reporting 
requirements of the Know Before You Owe Private Education Loan Act (Know Before You Owe). 

Signed into law on Aug. 26, 2021, Know Before You Owe provides potential student loan borrowers with 
critical information about their eligibility for federal financial assistance before those potential borrowers 
take out a private education loan at an institution of higher education. Raoul initiated Know Before You Owe 
to give student borrowers access to information that will help them avoid expensive private student loans 
that offer fewer borrower protections, less flexible repayment options and generally cost more than federal 
student loans. 

“Federal student loans give borrowers stronger protections, more flexibility in general, and the relief that 
comes with federal loans – as we saw during the pandemic – is critical to assisting borrowers during periods 
of economic uncertainty,” Raoul said. “Know Before You Owe ensures that students and families are 
informed of their rights and their federal loan eligibility before taking out expensive private loans.” 

In addition to providing information for potential student loan borrowers, Know Before You Owe addresses 
the lack of publicly-available data about private student loans. In particular, the act requires lenders who 
issue private student loans to report certain information about their lending activities annually to the 
Student Loan Ombudsman, a position housed within the Attorney General’s office. 

The reporting deadline for lenders is Nov. 1, 2022. Private education lenders can access the guides and 
reporting templates here: 

https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/student_lending.html 

Annual Reporting Information Guide 

Annual Reporting Spreadsheet 

Annual Statement Information Guide 

Annual Statement Spreadsheet 

Know Before You Owe also requires private lenders to obtain certification from schools, confirming whether 
borrowers have expenses that have not been covered by other sources. Additionally, schools’ financial aid 
offices must notify borrowers if they still have federal student loan aid eligibility. Schools also are required to 
certify annually with the Illinois Board of Higher Education that they are in compliance with the law. 

The pandemic has highlighted the importance of the many borrower protections federal loans afford. Federal 
loan borrowers can qualify to have their loans forgiven under the Public Service Loan Forgiveness program 
and receive more protections against predatory actions by their institutions or lenders through programs like 
Borrower Defense to Repayment. Just this year, for instance, the Department of Education granted the 
discharge of all federal loans borrowers took out to attend Corinthian Colleges, including over $220 million in 
loans discharged for over 26,000 Illinois borrowers – something Attorney General Raoul called on the federal 

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=4211&ChapAct=110%A0ILCS%A0983/&ChapterID=18&ChapterName=HIGHER%20EDUCATION&ActName=Know%20Before%20You%20Owe%20Private%20Education%20Loan%20Act.
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/student_lending.html
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20Final%20Annual%20Report%20Information%20Guide%207.6.2022b.pdf
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fillinoisattorneygeneral.gov%2Fconsumers%2FKBYO%2520-%2520Final%2520Annual%2520Reporting%2520Spreadsheet%25207.6.2022.xlsx&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20Final%20Annual%20Statement%20Information%20Guide%207.6.2022a.pdf
https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fillinoisattorneygeneral.gov%2Fconsumers%2FKBYO%2520-%2520Final%2520Annual%2520Statement%2520Spreadsheet%25207.6.2022.xlsx&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK


government to do. Attorney General Raoul encourages all potential borrowers to take out federal loans prior 
to taking any private loans. Repayment of federal student loans is set to restart after Aug. 31, 2022 after 
more than a two-year pause due to the pandemic. 

The Illinois Attorney General’s office has long been a national leader in investigating and enforcing consumer 
protection violations in the higher education and student loan field. Since entering office, Attorney General 
Raoul has secured over $160 million in relief for Illinois borrowers who were deceived by their schools, 
private lenders or servicers. Earlier this year, Raoul’s office announced a $1.85 billion national settlement 
with Navient, formerly the nation’s second largest student loan servicer. 

Student borrowers who have questions or need assistance can call the Attorney General’s Student Loan 
Helpline at 1-800-455-2456. 
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Illinois Know Before You Owe Private Education Loan Act:  
Annual Reporting Information Guide for Private Educational Lenders 

 
Illinois law requires private educational lenders to provide an annual report to the Illinois Student 
Loan Ombudsman and the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation with 
information about private education loans disbursed annually pursuant to the Know Before You 
Owe Private Education Loan Act (hereafter “Know Before You Owe Act”). See Public Act 102 
0583.1 This document provides instructions on how private educational lenders covered by the 
Act, who make more than 10 private education loans per year (hereafter “Lenders”), should 
prepare and submit the required annual report spreadsheet, due November 1 of each year. The 
Annual Reporting Spreadsheet that should be used for that report, as well as an Annual 
Reporting Information Guide can be found on the Student Lending page of our website at 
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov. 

Private educational lenders who make 10 or fewer private education loans per year shall submit 
an annual statement as required by Section 10(f), rather than an annual report. The Annual 
Statement Spreadsheet that should be used for that report, as well as an Annual Statement 
Information Guide can be found on the Student Lending page of our website at 
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov. 

 

The Illinois Student Loan Ombudsman prepared this information guide in accordance with its 
duties under the Act to help Lenders comply with this law. The annual reporting requirements 
are mandatory. Failing to submit a report, or submitting an incomplete report, is a violation of 
state law.  

Introduction 

Signed into law on August 26, 2021, the Know Before You Owe Act provides potential student 
loan borrowers with critical information about their eligibility for federal financial assistance, 
before those potential borrowers take out a private education loan at an institution of higher 

 
1 All Section references herein are to the Know Before You Owe Act.  

https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20-%20Final%20Annual%20Reporting%20Spreadsheet%207.6.2022.xlsx
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20Final%20Annual%20Report%20Information%20Guide%207.6.2022.pdf
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20Final%20Annual%20Report%20Information%20Guide%207.6.2022.pdf
http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20-%20Final%20Annual%20Statement%20Spreadsheet%207.6.2022.xlsx
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20-%20Final%20Annual%20Statement%20Spreadsheet%207.6.2022.xlsx
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20Final%20Annual%20Statement%20Information%20Guide%207.6.2022.pdf
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20Final%20Annual%20Statement%20Information%20Guide%207.6.2022.pdf
http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/
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education. 2 To do so, Lenders must request, and institutions of higher education must provide 
and certify, information about a potential borrower’s federal financial assistance prior to the 
Lender issuing a student loan. Under the law, Lenders shall obtain from the relevant institution 
of higher education where such loan is to be used on the behalf of the borrower, three discrete 
pieces of information, certified by the institution:  

(1) the enrollment status of the borrower; (2) the borrower's cost of attendance at 
the institution as determined by the institution under Title IV, Part F, of the 
Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended; and (3) the difference between: (A) 
such cost of attendance; and (B) the borrower's estimated financial assistance, 
including such assistance received under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 
1965 (20 U.S.C. 1070 et seq.) and other financial assistance known to the 
institution, as applicable. 

Public Act 102-0583. The institutions of higher education are required to provide this 
certification to the Lenders within 15 days of receiving such a request (Section 15(b)).  

If the Lender disburses funds without obtaining the required certification from an institution of 
higher education, as provided for in Section 10(c) 3, the Lender must report the disbursement of 
those funds in the information provided in its Annual Report, discussed in further detail below.  

Annual Report Instructions 

As described in Section 10(e) of the Act, Lenders must provide, at a minimum, as determined by 
the Student Loan Ombudsman, the following five categories of information in an annual report: 
(1) A list of all institutions of higher education at which a Lender disburses funds with respect to 
that private education loan; (2) The volume of private education loans made annually by a 
Lender; (3) the volume of private education loans made annually at each school identified in 
category 1, including loans made pursuant to Section 10(c); (4) the historical lifetime default rate 
for borrowers obtaining a private education loan from a Lender; and (5) a copy of each model or 
template promissory note, agreement, contract or other instrument used by a Lender during the 
previous year to substantiate that a private education loan has been extended to the borrower or 
that a borrower owes a debt to the Lender.  

A. General Instructions for Annual Report: 

The spreadsheet each Lender should use to collect the required information is at available online 
on the Student Lending page of the Illinois Attorney General’s website 
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov.  Lenders shall provide the information specified in each tab of 
the spreadsheet. The first reporting deadline will be November 1, 2022.  

 
2 The terms used herein, including but not limited to “institution of higher education”, have the same meaning as set 
forth in the Act.  
3 Section 10(c): Loans disbursed without certification. If a private educational lender disburses funds without 
obtaining the certification as described in subsection (b), the private educational lender shall report the disbursement 
of the funds in a manner determined by the Student Loan Ombudsman. 

https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/KBYO%20-%20Final%20Annual%20Reporting%20Spreadsheet%207.6.2022.xlsx
http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/
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B.  “Lender Information” Instructions:  

All Lenders shall complete the Lender Information tab of the annual report. The Lender 
Information tab seeks identifying information for the Lender and the contact individual preparing 
the report on the Lender’s behalf. Citations to specific spreadsheet cells are included (Column C, 
Row 7 shall be referred to as “C7”, for example).  

Specifically, the Lender shall provide: 

1. The year covered in the Lender Information tab and, if applicable, the report (C7); 
2. The name and address of the Lender (C10-C14). For Lenders’ convenience, some 

Lender information has been included in a drop-down list for this section.4 If the 
Lender’s Information is included in the drop-down list, Lenders should choose the 
appropriate entry. If the Lender’s Information is not included in the drop-down 
list of Lenders, Lenders should manually enter the requested information in the 
appropriate boxes; and 

3. The name, title, phone number and email address of the individual submitting the 
report (C17-C20). 

Further, in the “Comprehensive Reporting” section, for the calendar year being reported, Lenders 
should identify: 

1. The total number of private education loans originated during the reporting 
period5 (C23); and 

2. The historical lifetime default rate for borrowers obtaining a private education 
loan6, which shall be calculated from the enactment date of the Act (C24). 
 

C. Instructions for “Loan Volume” Tab:  

The second tab in the annual report seeks information related to the amount of loans distributed 
during the reporting period identified in box C7 of the Lender Information tab. All Lenders who 
provide over ten (10) private education loans during that period shall complete the Loan Volume 
Report. See Sec. 10(e).  

For each row, please provide the applicable amounts corresponding to the institution indicated in 
that row in Column A. See generally Sec. 10e(C).  

i. Institution of Higher Education Disbursed To (Column A):  

For private education loans originated by the Lender in the relevant period, please identify each 
institution of higher education such loans were distributed to in Column A of the Loan Volume 
tab. See generally Sec. 10e(A). For Lenders’ convenience, a list of some higher education 

 
4 Please note that the list of entities in the drop-down menu is neither all-inclusive, nor does it necessarily signify a 
duty to report. 
5 Section 10(e)(B) of the Know Before You Owe Act.  
6 Section 10(e)(D) of the Know Before You Owe Act 
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institutions has been included in a drop-down list for Column A.7 If the institution that the 
Lender disbursed a loan to is included in this drop-down list, please choose that institution from 
the list. If the institution to which the Lender disbursed a loan is not included in the drop-down 
menu in Column A, please manually enter both the name and address of the institution to help 
minimize confusion among similarly-named institutions. 

ii. Amount of Loans Disbursed (Columns B-D): 

For private education loans disbursed by the Lender in the relevant period, please identify the 
number of private educational loans disbursed, the number of unique borrowers for whom 
private educational loans were disbursed, and the dollar value of private educational loans 
disbursed in Columns B-D of the Loan Volume tab. See generally Sec. 10(e)(B). 

iii. Amount of Loans Originated without Section 10(a) Certification 
(Columns E-H): 

The Act further requires Lenders to receive a certification from an institute of higher education 
of certain borrower information prior to disbursing funds to that institution on behalf of the 
borrower. See Sec. 10(a). However, in certain circumstances, the Act provides a process for 
Lenders to disburse these funds without receiving those institutional certifications. See Sec. 
10(b). Finally, the Act requires Lenders to report the disbursement of funds on a borrower’s 
behalf without the required certification from institutions of higher education. See Sec. 10(c).  

Pursuant to Sec. 10(c), Columns E-H seek information relating to such disbursement. Column E 
seeks the total number of loans disbursed to an institution of higher education in the reporting 
period pursuant to Sec. 10(b). Column F seeks the dollar value of those loans identified in 
Column E. 

As further set forth under the Act, Lenders can disburse funds without the required certification 
in only limited circumstances, namely if the institution fails to provide the certification within 15 
business days of the request and the institution has provided one of the following:  

(1) A refusal to certify the request, Sec. 10(b)(1); or 
(2) A notification that the institution needs additional time to comply with the certification 

request, Sec. 10(b)(2).  

Columns G and H seek the number of loans disbursed without a 10(a) certification pursuant to 
these two permissible bases. See Secs. 10(b)(1), (2); Sec. 10(c).   

D. Instructions for Document Identification Requirements: 

The third tab in the annual report requires Lenders to provide certain information about 
documentation the Lender provides to borrowers.8 The Know Before You Owe Act requires 
Lenders to provide a copy of each model or template promissory note, agreement, contract or 

 
7 The list of higher education institutions in this drop-down list is also not all-inclusive. Lenders should report loans 
disbursed whether or not the institution is included in this drop-down list.  
8 Section 10(e)(E) of the Know Before You Owe Act.  
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other instrument used during the previous year to substantiate that a private education loan has 
been extended to the borrower or that a borrower owes a debt to a Lender.  

Lenders shall send a copy of each of the documents described in Section 10(e)(E) of the Know 
Before You Owe Act to Loan.reports@ilag.gov. The subject of the email line shall state only 
“Section 10(e)(E) documentation for [name of Lender]”, and include the required documents as 
attachments. The attachments shall be provided in PDF format. The attachments shall be labeled 
with the name of the Lender and the document type – for example, [Lender]_[Billing 
Statement].pdf. 

In the Document Report, Lenders shall provide, for each document: 

1. The model document name (Column A); 
2. The dates the model document was used (Column B); 
3. The number of unique borrowers provided with substantially similar documents 

(Column C); and  
4. A description of the category of borrowers for whom the document was used (for 

example, a billing statement used for delinquent private education loan 
borrowers) (Column D). 
 

E. Submission of Completed Reporting Spreadsheets 

Please submit your completed annual report as an attachment via email to Loan.reports@ilag.gov 
by November 1, 2022. The first reporting deadline will be November 1, 2022. The Student Loan 
Ombudsman may contact the individual identified in the Lender Information tab for any follow-
up inquiries. No other information should be included in the body of the email. The subject line 
of your email should read “Annual Report from [Lender]”.  

 

  

mailto:Loan.reports@ilag.gov
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